Many of our new staff have just completed their first full week of having their own classroom! Congratulations. Others are in a new grade level this year or in their second year of teaching. I hope your first week started off great.

I love the lead up to the start of the school year. I get anxious and excited. I’m unable to sleep at night. But once the week actually begins, the adrenaline starts to wear off as I run into small road bumps and realize that even the best oiled machine needs to be fine tuned.

As a beginning teacher, you will face a continuum of emotions this year. David Ginsburg provides this light-hearted visual about the phases that first year teachers go through. You can read more about them on his blog.

Janet Moeller-Abercrombie points out in her presentation that this curve looks a lot like the stages of culture shock:

As beginning international school teachers, some of you are thinking

“OMG, what I have I gotten myself into this year?”

Don’t worry, it’s not as dark as you think. Here are some ideas to help you out:

  • Spend some time reflecting on the stages
  • Talk with your mentor about your experiences and feelings
  • Celebrate the victories
  • Take some pictures – you are going to want to remember this in the future
  • Find someone to laugh with
  • Practice serendipity. Don’t sweat the petty stuff and don’t pet the sweaty stuff.

Remember, it’s a roller coaster. It’s scary and exhilarating at the same time. It’s better experienced together than alone. It’s a ride. Enjoy the ride.

